The UKAEL is overseen by a committee as detailed below.

President Professor Sir Alan Dashwood KCMG CBE QC, King's College London, Henderson Chambers, City University
Vice Presidents Sir David Edward KCMG PC QC, Judge Nicholas Forwood, Judge Paul Mahoney, Sir Konrad Schiemann, Advocate General Eleanor Sharpston, Judge Christopher Vajda
Honorary Secretary Professor Philippa Watson, Essex Court Chambers
Honorary Treasurer Rhodri Thompson QC, Matrix Chambers
Committee Member The Right Honourable Lady Justice Arden DBE, Royal Courts of Justice
Committee Member Charles Brasted, Hogan Lovells International LLP
Committee Member Paul Berman,  Director, The Council Legal Service
Committee Member Professor Andrea Biondi, King's College London
Committee Member Daniel Denman, Director, Cabinet Office European Law Division
Committee Member Professor Michael Dougan, University of Liverpool
Committee Member Denis Edwards, Francis Taylor Building
Committee Member Margaret Gray BL, Brick Court Chambers
Committee Member Angus Johnston, University College, Oxford
Committee Member Elisabeth Jones, Welsh Assembly, Legal Services
Committee Member Patrick Layden QC TD, Scottish Law Commission
Committee Member The Right Honourable Lord Justice Lloyd Jones, Law Commission
Committee Member Philip Moser QC, Monckton Chambers
Committee Member Katrine Sawyer, European Court of Justice
Committee Member Christopher Stothers, Arnold & Porter (UK) LLP
Committee Student Representative Mathias Cheung
Committee Student Representative Sofia Nocentini, King's College London

Committee Student Representative Kinga Robutka, King's College London


Our members enjoy a range of benefits including:

  • Discounts and priority booking for all of our events
  • Member rate at the biennial FIDE Congress
  • An invitation to the UKAEL Annual General Meeting
  • Opportunities to study and discuss European Union Law with leading academics and practitioners